Current | Archive and Rings | Guestbook | Email | Notes | Diaryland | My Wishlist | DiaryReview(s)

[April 21, 2003 - 6:30 p.m.]
Move

The move went OK. Steve, the man with the van, turned up at 8.30am on Saturday - we were expecting him at 9, so C was in the shower and I was still in my dressing gown. But apart from that hitch, it all went OK.

My flat is now full of stuff. Literally full. 1 studio flat full of stuff + one one-bedroom flat full of stuff into a studio flat does not go. And there is still a 3-piece living room set and a sofa round at C's old flat, due to be picked up by Furniture-Aid on Wednesday. The charity shops round here are full-to-overflowing with out unwanted stuff.

A fair amount of our stuff is also in our 35ft2 storage unit round at SafeStore. We're probably going to rent it long-term because it's like having an extra room in the flat, only 5 minutes down the road. My bed is in there, since C's is nicer, and I don't want to be bedless if/when C & I no longer live together.

So yeah, it's done. It's pretty cool :-) Apart from the "flat full of stuff" aspect.

Who lives in a house like this? I do, unfortunately.

We have managed to clear paths from the bed to the kitchen to the front door, but otherwise we're about 4-feet deep in boxes. Jerry thinks it's a wicked assault course. She's also scared witless by the washing machine.

Today C & I went to IKEA in Croydon to buy more storage stuff - another bookshelf (to divide the room into bedroom & lounge, and for all our books), and more shelves for the cupboard, since at the moment there are only 3 in there, and that's not enough. My flat is proving to be Tardis-like, though, as gradually all the stuff disappears.

Since we don't have a car, we went to IKEA on the tram and the stuff is being delivered on Saturday. Public transport nerd that I am, I was totally thrilled by the prospect of going on the tram for the first time (it rules, by the way). Who needs a car? The car queues to get into IKEA were huge, and we just sailed on in. Hehehehe, suckers ;-)

BTW, here's the scooter from Friday:

Nice, huh? It's gone now. I feel sorry for the person whose pride & joy that was!!

Miss anything?

Sluttery [August 16, 2003]
Apologies... [July 30, 2003]
Up and down [July 27, 2003]
Poly/bi meet thingy [July 26, 2003]
Office scandal [July 23, 2003]

Design by my own fair hand. Bettie Page picture � Olivia.