Current | Archive and Rings | Guestbook | Email | Notes | Diaryland | My Wishlist | DiaryReview(s)

[June 02, 2003 - 3:42 p.m.]
Lunch with sister

Cramming for a econdsay interviewway I have on Wednesday. Of the echnicaltay kind. I hope they don't ask me too many PHP or Java questions.

I think if I don't get it I'll fall apart. Despite the fact that I've spoken to recruiters almost every day for the last two weeks, I've not had many promising leads. Like, two. Ugh, this was a stupid mistake. I keep barelling way way up and then going way way down again. If I fuck up on Wednesday.. ugh. You know.

Lunch with my elder sister on Saturday was surprisingly OK. She's, like, normal these days, rather than the moody bitch from hell she was in her mid-twenties (e.g. not speaking to me for an entire year etc).

We spent ages talking about mum & dad, about how we can't tell them anything about our lives. We're both in the same boat. Although, annoyingly, sister told me that mum no longer bugs her about getting married. I told sister that I'm the one getting the nudges instead, and sister was surprised. She had no idea. She told me just to ignore mum. Then I told sister that mum had told me (seriously) that I had one more yearand then she's "really going to start going at me". Sister thought this shocking but hysterically funny.

I think I'll skip the country when I'm 27.

I also mentioned the retirement party for dad. The one that mum said she was going to get me & sister & brother to organise. Sister hadn't heard anything about any retirement party. Neither has brother. I guess that mum has put the onus on me because I'm the current focus for her guilt-tripping.Uh-huh. Sorry, but 1) dad doesn't actually want a retirement party (he hates stuff like that), and 2) I really don't want to be the only one responsible, especially considering that sister and brother are 31 & 41 respectively and perfectly capable of helping me organise it. I will be having words with mother.

I have just got my period, 2 days early. This means I'll be having my interviewway while floating in the stratosphere on painkillers. Feck.

Miss anything?

Sluttery [August 16, 2003]
Apologies... [July 30, 2003]
Up and down [July 27, 2003]
Poly/bi meet thingy [July 26, 2003]
Office scandal [July 23, 2003]

Design by my own fair hand. Bettie Page picture � Olivia.