Current | Archive and Rings | Guestbook | Email | Notes | Diaryland | My Wishlist | DiaryReview(s)

[June 08, 2003 - 5:49 p.m.]
Mortal Dad

So I just had a phone call from my Dad in which he breezily announces that he's going into hospital tomorrow to have a lump removed from his shoulder. Despite his no-worry reassurances that it's nothing serious, I'm still spooked. I guess this is the first time I've had that reminder that my Dad is mortal.

My Dad, who is 66 and due to retire Real Soon NowTM has always avoided doctors etc, because he has a bit of a "Superman" complex. Now he's old, obese, in poor health and getting towards the age at which members of our genetically-unspectacular family drop dead. And he's got a lesion on his shoulder. Apparently he's been having biopsies for a couple of weeks (thanks for telling me, guys), but it's not cancer, it's something called a Rodent Ulcer, which isn't serious.

But still. I'm still freaked.

I felt the same when my Mum had her "heart attack" a few years ago (it turned out not to be a full-on heart attack, but she does have a dodgy heart). I got used to the fact back then that my Mum won't be around forever, but now I'm realising that my Dad won't either. My Dad has sons in their 40s, he's an older guy. But I'm only 26, I'm not quite ready to accept my parents as frail old people, not yet.

Not that they really are. They're still active. My Dad's operation is only minor.

But still.

Eh, I was going to write about last night, when C & I went to a gay bar and had to leave because another guy was wearing the same t-shirt as C (and C was mortified), but it just somehow doesn't seem appropriate now...

Miss anything?

Sluttery [August 16, 2003]
Apologies... [July 30, 2003]
Up and down [July 27, 2003]
Poly/bi meet thingy [July 26, 2003]
Office scandal [July 23, 2003]

Design by my own fair hand. Bettie Page picture � Olivia.