Current | Archive and Rings | Guestbook | Email | Notes | Diaryland | My Wishlist | DiaryReview(s)

[July 02, 2003 - 9:02 p.m.]
Fish, women's lib & oyster(card)s

Oooh!

Oystercards!

Dammit, I want one. You already know how much of a public transport nerd I am, hence I needneedneed an Oystercard.

However, my annual Travelcard doesn't expire until February 2004, so I'm stuck with an old-style card until then. Knackers.

---

I am going to the uber-trendy hair salon C uses this lunchtime for a consultation (and possibly a cut - not sure what I actually booked). My hair, as ever, is crap and boring and needs a decent style. Only thing is, I don't like having my hair in a "style" because I don't have time for anything in the mornings except a wash and very perfunctory blow-dry. Maybe it's time I started making time to actually style my hair. And pick out an outfit, rather than just whichever jeans are clean, and whichever t-shirt is clean and vaguely goes with said jeans. And put on make-up.

---

Does anyone else think the news about the possibility, in the future, that infertile women could get pregnant using ova harvested from aborted foetuses just... damn creepy?

OK, so I'm probably not one to comment on the extent some people will go to to have their "own" children, but surely this is going too far? Don't you think that maybe there's a reason some people are infertile? And this is just to allow the mother to "experience" a child growing inside her, even if it's not genetically "hers". It's just.... ick! imagine being a person whose biological mother was never even born!

Sorry, but I think the interfility "industry" is going nutso. I suppose techniques like IVF are OK. ICSI I'm more against, because it leads to a relatively high rate of birth defects. But techniques as extreme as harvesting ovarian tissue from unborn foetuses? Too far. Who knows what problems it might cause, mental and physical.

FWIW, I used to be a receptionist in an infertility clinic, so I saw what couples went through when they were having infertility treatment. Not that it makes me an expert, or anything.

I'm a woman who doesn't want kids, won't be having kids, and has never been pregnant, so I have no idea what "baby rabies" feels like. But most of the time the lengths people will go to just to have the Almighty Baby (not even the "Almighty Child" - all they want is a cute little baby of their very own) are things no rational person would put themselves through. I used to see women at that job who were sick and at huge risk of ovarian cancer from so many IVF cycles. Great - go to great lengths to have baby, then leave baby motherless.

I suppose those baby-inducing hormones must be mighty strong. Thank doG that I'm snipped, so I have a nice "rational" barrier to all that nature-induced madness.

---

I have a new haircut! Let's see how long this one lasts...

---

Today is [T]he 75th anniversary of the Equal Franchise Act, which first granted women the right to vote in the UK.

---

I've just been informed that my haircut is a "pretty good Jap-cut" by the Manga-loving guy who sits to my left. This is probably because my hair is 1) black, and 2) currently straight, due to having been blow-dried correctly. It won't be the latter tomorrow, because I can't blow-dry my own hair to save my life. I usually just go around with a big poufy, frizzy mess on my head (especially if it's damp out, which it often is).

---

Heh, when I told the hairdresser that my boyfriend has his hair cut religiously every 4 weeks, and I have mine cut 'when I remember', she said: "That's a bit of a role reversal, isn't it?".

Honey, you have no idea. LOL :-)

Miss anything?

Sluttery [August 16, 2003]
Apologies... [July 30, 2003]
Up and down [July 27, 2003]
Poly/bi meet thingy [July 26, 2003]
Office scandal [July 23, 2003]

Design by my own fair hand. Bettie Page picture � Olivia.