Current | Archive and Rings | Guestbook | Email | Notes | Diaryland | My Wishlist | DiaryReview(s)

[July 22, 2003 - 6:51 p.m.]
A day late

I wrote this on Monday, but never uploaded it.......

---

I am not well today. The moment my alarm went off and I opened my eyes, the world started spinning around, in the same way it does when you're very drunk or you've just got off a rollercoaster. I managed to stagger around getting coffee and showering, with the aid of holding onto walls where necessary, but I still feel like crap. I am dizzy, my eyes won't focus properly, and my head feels like it's stuffed with cotton wool. I should probably have stayed home and gone to the doctor, but I can't lie down (makes the dizziness worse) and I doubt the doctor could do anything.

I haven't banged my head or anything (at least, I don't think I have). Weird. I'm starting to feel a bit nauseous, too. Maybe my head is about to explode, Scanners-style, in a giant fountainous anyurism (sp?).

The result of all this is that I'm in a foul mood. Don't want to be at work, hating the people I work with, hating the fact that I'm sitting under a broken air conditioning vent that's blasting out cold air and no-one can turn it off. The week before last I mentioned that it was a bit cold by my desk (as opposed to the rest of the office, which is "comfortable"), and I was told to "stop being such a woman". I'm not complaining now; I'm just wearing a coat.

Talking of women, there is another one in this office now. Your archetypal PR bunny / managing director's PA, shipped over from the parent company. Can't stand her. I will confess to pulling a face when she squeaked (from the other side of the room) "Does .org.uk actually exist? I mean, really? I know .org, but .org.uk?" Urgh. How come PR bunnies always seem to be cast from the same St Tropez-ed, size eight, posho accented, slightly thick, mould?

OK, people walking by my desk have started to comment on how cold it is. A couple of guys have fiddled with the control to get it blasting out less air, despite my protests that I tried it last week and it's broken. Surprise surprise, they can't fix it. Thing is, we're apparently moving to the other side of the office at some point this week, so I'm going to let someone else deal with it. With any luck, the guy who told me to "stop being such a woman" will get landed with a desk under the broken vent. I can hope.

Yesterday was my dad's retirement dinner, which went smoothly for the most part. I think C found dealing with my loud, boisterous and (frankly) bigoted bro & sister-in-law a bit difficult though. My niece is now 15 and my brother is vetting her friends and boyfriends in a completely paranoid manner; not surprisingly, he's not vetting him sons' (20 and 13) friends and girlfriends in the same way. My brother has the classic "Boys will be boys; girls are to be protected" attitude. I feel sorry for my niece, not least because the only future my brother sees for her is marriage to a man "with good prospects". Ho hum.

My mum has become a very vocal convert to the Atkins diet. If she wants to do it, let her do it; but sitting opposite her in the restaurant while she harped on and on about humans not being designed to eat carbohydrates blah blah blah was a bit much. Especially since she's a vegetarian, and there she is saying we are only "meant" to eat meat and berries. I'm not sure how she's managing the diet - she eats fish (and is therefore not a vegetarian, IMHO) and eggs, so I guess she's eating those. I'm glad she's dieting and having some success - both she & my dad are very obese - but can she lay off the "Atkins disciple" act, please? Gah.

I have a relatively busy 7 days ahead. On Friday C & I are planning to go to a pub meet with people who post to the LondonPolyBis community of LiveJournal. This is assuming my LiveJournal using boyfriend delurks on there sometime soon :-) Then the Urban Games on Sunday, which I am sooo looking forward to (skater boys ahoy!)

I still have not heard back from KT. This is depressing. I have known her since October 1996. The last time we were both single we pledged to always make time for each other the next time we were in relationships. Crapola. I hate losing friends, especially when I have so few IRL. Thing is, if she contacts me this week with even a semi-plausible excuse for not answering my voicemail message, I'll forgive her. I'm a sucker like that.

---

And now it's Tuesday. I am still alive - the dizziness is gone, and my head has not exploded. I will put yesterday's disorientation down to a lack of pubic hair throwing me off balance.

KT sent me a text late last night, asking me how my weekend was and saying she'd been incommunicado because she didn't have any credit on her phone. I am still put out, and have yet to email her or call her. Call me a moody cow.

I have had, however, an email from Ben, telling me all about the move into his & Bill's new house. This makes me very happy :-) Nothing like a flirty little catch-up email from a v cute guy to brighten one's day...

Miss anything?

Sluttery [August 16, 2003]
Apologies... [July 30, 2003]
Up and down [July 27, 2003]
Poly/bi meet thingy [July 26, 2003]
Office scandal [July 23, 2003]

Design by my own fair hand. Bettie Page picture � Olivia.