Current | Archive and Rings | Guestbook | Email | Notes | Diaryland | My Wishlist | DiaryReview(s)

[December 06, 2002 - 3:05 p.m.]
How big?

Third entry for today. Back you go, I know you haven't read them all...

...

...

...

OK. You know a few weeks ago I said I was going to stop reading wedding-related sites, because they're bad for me?

You think I did?

Well, in all honesty I'm not reading wedding sites any more. But a couple of wedding- and marriage-related newsgroups kinda snuck their way onto my newsgroup lists. No idea how that happened *whistle*

Today, on my slacker-supremo day, I've been enjoying the odd trainwreck or two on usenet. Oh yes I have.

And I've found a doozy.

Diamond: how big?

Apparently, this is a crucial question. I had no idea people thought like this.

It's a big debate: size vs. quality. Those who "won't accept less than three carats" are arguing furiously with those who go for quality over size.

People who prefer white gold are actually flaming those who prefer yellow gold. Blimey!

Believe it or not, until a couple of years ago I had no idea that diamonds were the "traditional" engagement stone. My mum has a pearl solitaire, not a diamond, so I grew up assuming that there was no "traditional" thing.

But then, as a kid I didn't have much interest in things marriage, so I didn't pay any attention to what my mum's friends wore on the third finger of their left hands. It was only once I got on the internet that I discovered this no-doubt DeBeers-inspired "tradition".

But anyway. This thread is hysterical. I've been sitting reading it with my jaw hanging open because I can't believe people can be so shallow. I'm a true innocent, aren't I?

Oh my god, there's a huge thread on table centrepieces! This is precious. Must go read it!

Miss anything?

Sluttery [August 16, 2003]
Apologies... [July 30, 2003]
Up and down [July 27, 2003]
Poly/bi meet thingy [July 26, 2003]
Office scandal [July 23, 2003]

Design by my own fair hand. Bettie Page picture � Olivia.