Current | Archive and Rings | Guestbook | Email | Notes | Diaryland | My Wishlist | DiaryReview(s)

[December 09, 2002 - 10:16 a.m.]
Dirty stop-out

Despite only getting home at 8.05am this morning, I still managed to get into work a mere 10 minutes late. I rule!! I still have it, even at almost-26! Yeah!!

How naive am I? How little do I know about the intimate workings of the world? You wanna know? Of course you do.

On Saturday evening, C and I were watching Have I Got News For You (a topical news quiz, for all you non-UKers), which featured the lovely Liza Tarbuck and the not-so-lovely Janet Street-Porter.

There was a question regarding some report in the papers last week that X% (can't remember exactly) of women lie, and that their most common lies are things like "But these shoes were only �10, darling!".

Then Janet said: "Of course, I buy my own shoes".

And Liza said, "So do I".

And it hit me. Ka-blam! Like a bolt of lighting.

I turned to C and said, "So that's what they mean, when they talk about women lying about how much stuff cost and hiding receipts! It's because they're not buying things with their own money!!!".

C looked at me and was like, "Well duh, of course that's what they mean".

I was flabbergasted. All these years, I had never quite understood the stereotype of women fibbing about the cost of clothes. It's because that stereotype woman is buying stuff with money from a joint account, or with her husband's money!

Suddenly everything is clear!

C spent the next five minutes laughing hysterically at my "Eureka!" moment.

Yes, I'm a true naif. Again, I guess it just never occurred to me, having been buying my own clothes since I was 16, and never having been party to any sort of money-sharing arrangement (my ex and I always went [his-salary-ratio]:[my-salary-ratio] on everything when we were living together).

Well, I guess you learn something new every day.

Miss anything?

Sluttery [August 16, 2003]
Apologies... [July 30, 2003]
Up and down [July 27, 2003]
Poly/bi meet thingy [July 26, 2003]
Office scandal [July 23, 2003]

Design by my own fair hand. Bettie Page picture � Olivia.