Current | Archive and Rings | Guestbook | Email | Notes | Diaryland | My Wishlist | DiaryReview(s)

[December 10, 2002 - 10:47 a.m.]
Last night...

Suzanb set me a bit righter about the 'women buying stuff' entry from yesterday. See, I told you I was a total naif (I love that word). I haven't a clue.

On the upside, C and I had a big chat the other night about me getting all in a tizzy over the logistics of us living together. He agreed it'd be hard, definitely too hard to think about. So it's on hold, even with regard to him asking me again in February. I'm off the hook!

I think it's just taking a bit of time getting used to us having separate flats after the 4 weeks when he was virtually living with me (while waiting for his furniture to arrive). But we'll get used to it... we got used to being 400 miles apart, 500 yards can't hurt.

It's snowing here in Kilburn. Just a bit, and it's not settling, but it's still snowing. What the fuck?? It never snows in London in December - that's for January! And even in January it's rare. Bloody hell. I wore a vest, two jumpers, my Gestapo coat (which has quilted lining), my criminal fraternity beanie and a scarf this morning, and I was still cold. Even in the tube station. Last night, I put two duvets on the bed, and woke up in the middle of the night to find that the bed had three occupants: Jerry had somehow dug her way into the bed as well. I almost rolled over and squashed her. You know it's cold when the cat gets cold...

Last night I planned to meet C at the World's End (a.k.a. the Camden Underworld) at 6.30pm. He finally turned up at 7.30, by which time I'd fled to the tube station to meet him instead. Sitting in the pub, I'd found myself being chatted up by this early-30s, media-employed, posh-speaking, tosser. His opening line was "This place is a toilet". Er, good start. Then he asked me where I lived. I told him Battersea, and he starts going into the old "Oh well I never go south of the river!" crapola. Wow, I never heard that one before.

[For those not in the know, there's a huge amount of snobbery over South vs North London. Oddly, it's only people who live north of the river who really care; you never hear people who live south of the river going "I never go North of the river!!!". Anyway, that shit is old.]

Anyhow, back to the tosser... After he'd spent a bit of time dissing where I live, he starts getting obnoxious at the bar staff. The bar at the World's End is huge and it's usually understaffed, so you have to work quite hard to get the barpersons' attention. But not as hard as this guy was doing - waving both hands above his head, whistling, going "Hellooooooo?" etc etc. Generally being unbelievably disrespectful of the staff.

I decided to abandon my second pint of lager (half finished *sob*) and leave while the going was good. Hurrah for dickwads who think a lady drinking alone in a pub is automatically looking to get picked up. Jesus f'ing Christ. And even if I was looking to get picked up, that guy needs to improve his conversation to like, not totally insult his subject. Wanker.

Anyhow, after I met C at Camden Town tube we nipped into Wagamama and had a quick meal, then went up to the Dublin Castle (what a hole that is) to see my mate Andy's band Plastik play.

Tonight, I'm supposed to be seeing my other mate's band Sensus play in Soho, but if it's still this cold tonight I might cry off. Which would be a shame because it's a showcase gig and they have some people from Sony coming to see them.

C goes to Edinburgh tomorrow for work, and comes back on Friday. I have a mad week: college tomorrow night, circuits on Thursday, then I'm meeting him at Gatwick on Friday evening (although he doesn't know that yet). Sunday is drinks party with the parents, and I've been invited not as a guest, but as a drinks-hander-outer and coats-gatherer. Joy. No rest for the wicked.

I can't wait until the 23rd when I'm off work for two whole weeks! Yaaay!!

Miss anything?

Sluttery [August 16, 2003]
Apologies... [July 30, 2003]
Up and down [July 27, 2003]
Poly/bi meet thingy [July 26, 2003]
Office scandal [July 23, 2003]

Design by my own fair hand. Bettie Page picture � Olivia.