Current | Archive and Rings | Guestbook | Email | Notes | Diaryland | My Wishlist | DiaryReview(s)

[December 13, 2002 - 2:34 p.m.]
[An] ideosyncracy-free construct

Ironically, given my previous entry, today I received the following in an email. Remember what I said about pretentious, self-absorbed, obsessed-with-their-own-genius programmers?

From Cunty BossTM regarding coding practices:

Thank you for the didactic treatment of this, and sorry to hear of your time spent chasing the problem down. In the same spirit, I must step in in defence of [developer], who should not have to code defensively against undeclared ideosyncracies. An interface should be an ideosyncracy-free construct, and the idiom reference.method().method() should be usable with certainty, unless otherwise indicated in the documentation. Generally, returning null in such an interface should be discouraged.

Translations on a postcard. I thank you.

Miss anything?

Sluttery [August 16, 2003]
Apologies... [July 30, 2003]
Up and down [July 27, 2003]
Poly/bi meet thingy [July 26, 2003]
Office scandal [July 23, 2003]

Design by my own fair hand. Bettie Page picture � Olivia.