Current | Archive and Rings | Guestbook | Email | Notes | Diaryland | My Wishlist | DiaryReview(s)

[December 19, 2002 - 3:07 p.m.]
Luddite

Well, the second Lord of the Rings film is out, and I have yet to see the first one. I've been meaning to, but every time I go down to Blockbuster (which is about once every 6 months anyway) something else catches my eye.

I wonder if I'll understand what's going on in the new film, if I get taken to see it? Given that I haven't read the books either. I wonder if it's a self-contained movie or one of those god-awful films in which you have to have seen the first one in order to 'get' the second?

I wrote an essay at Uni against the latter kind of film. Actually, I think the essay was primarily about closure, but they're all related.

I thought I'd manage to get away without seeing any of the LOTR films (which is my usual gut reaction to hype) but C really wants to see LOTR:TTT and is adamant I should see the first one as well.

At least I can rest easy, knowing I'll probably never see any of the Harry Potter ones, except if they suddenly turn up on TV at a future Christmas. I haven't read any of the books either. Luddite that I am.

Ah, but I have seen the animated, 1978, version of The Lord of the Rings. I wonder why they only made the first book into an animated movie, leaving us in the lurch about what happens next? I remember finding that quite frustrating when I was a mere tyke.

Bah, I wish I had something more interesting to write about...

Miss anything?

Sluttery [August 16, 2003]
Apologies... [July 30, 2003]
Up and down [July 27, 2003]
Poly/bi meet thingy [July 26, 2003]
Office scandal [July 23, 2003]

Design by my own fair hand. Bettie Page picture � Olivia.