Current | Archive and Rings | Guestbook | Email | Notes | Diaryland | My Wishlist | DiaryReview(s)

[January 13, 2003 - 12:03 p.m.]
Resignation

So I got into work this morning with �9.20 worth of doughnuts (it's a tradition here that if it's your birthday, you buy sweet things for everyone). Mid-morning, we had a company meeting - we're taking over a competitor. This means that in the very short term, we're taking on 12 extra staff and there's going to be loads of disruption.

And I'm planning to resign today.

I haven't yet, because I haven't seen the offer letter from the House of Filth yet. I am waiting for C to go over to my place and check my post, since I leave my flat before the postman arrives. I don't really want to resign tomorrow, as I want to leave on the 13th February (and have the 14th - C's birthday - off).

Update: the offer letter has arrived. I'll be handing in my notice ASAP.

Of course, the announcement about my current company buying its chief competitor has given me major second thoughts. They're probably going to be going from strength to strength, everyone will probably get more money etc etc. Crap. The money-hungry part of me says "Stay! Stay! Get rich!", but the other part of me says "Leave! There will be tons more work and stress!".

I know what I need to do. I'm still scared though. I have this little pit of worry in my stomach, telling me that it's all going to be a disaster, and that I should stick to what I know because I have responsibilities. Of course, I have responsibilities to myself as well, and those are just as important.

I've found myself wishing that I shared costs with someone. I think that's what worries me most, the fact that I'm the only one paying my bills and mortgage, for food and for Jerry. C's being great and has said that he doesn't mind feeding me if money gets really tight, but he doesn't have to do that and I don't want to find myself relying on him - it's not fair on him, for a start.

Update: I just resigned. EEEEK!!!!

Anyhow. Dammit, sometimes I wish I wasn't quite so determined to go it alone... but then, knowing I rely on myself makes me happy and it's not something I want to give up.

Bah, I can't stop shaking now :-/

Heh, in my little talk with Cunty BossTM, he said how sorry he was to see me go, and that he was really pleased with my work, and that I had the largest bonus in the company at Christmas. Which is nice to know.

On to better things!

Miss anything?

Sluttery [August 16, 2003]
Apologies... [July 30, 2003]
Up and down [July 27, 2003]
Poly/bi meet thingy [July 26, 2003]
Office scandal [July 23, 2003]

Design by my own fair hand. Bettie Page picture � Olivia.