Current | Archive and Rings | Guestbook | Email | Notes | Diaryland | My Wishlist | DiaryReview(s)

[January 15, 2003 - 10:56 a.m.]
Disjointed

I am insanely busy at work, so no real time for an update. Disjointedly, then:

Pretty much everyone knows I'm leaving now, and what I'm going on to. Most people think it's cool and exciting, and have been offering me loads of ideas (and asking me to stay in touch!). A couple of people have been baffled by the fact that I'm taking a pay cut (I haven't specified how much), though. It's amazing how spoiled working IT makes some people - I've always known that we were really overpaid in terms of general salaries (OK, so I've whined in the past about being underpaid here, but I meant underpaid in IT terms), but a lot of people here seem totally ignorant of that fact. Hello? You're mid-twenties and pulling in �37k++, going on snowboarding holidays every year - with your own snowboard - and have a whole collection of overpriced trendy trainers!!

Anyhow.

Most people are pretty upset that I'm leaving. I have heard many laments that all the "cool people" are going. The colleague whom I shagged has said that the office will seem much "flatter" without me.

They'll survive, though. There are at least four women among the 14 staff the company are taking on (as part of buying their competitor) so they'll have new flesh to ogle...

I had an "informal chat" with the CEO about my leaving. He asked me, in a concerned tone, if that company I was going to was "legit" and if I knew what I was doing. What are you? My freaking dad???. Jeez.

Cunty BossTM is being a twat about my leaving date. I handed in my notice on Jan 13th, so I plan to leave on Feb 13th. My contract says I have to give a month's notice, so it's all kosher. Only... CB asks me to be "flexible" about when I leave. I tell him I could possibly work on the 14th Feb, but I'd rather not (I have plans, dammit!!).

Of course, I know the reason: they have work for me in the pipeline. Work which I estimate would take at least 3 weeks - 1 month. I'm having a meeting about this project later, during which I just know CB will tell me I have to do this project, and that I have to squeeze it in between 2nd Feb (when I finish my current work) and 13th Feb. Sorry, but I AM NOT spending my last month here working every evening and weekend, when I'll get nothing out of it (we don't get overtime). I've mentioned my stance to my line manager and he agrees, but I know I'll have a battle on my hands *sigh*.

I have been feeling miserable for a while, due to work stress and being afraid of what the consequences of the Biggest Decision I've Ever Made will be. But as the days start ticking down until I leave, I feel better. I'll be sad to leave all my mates, but there's no reason why we can't stay in touch. And C and I had a nice, sleepy, morning shag today which has put me in a smiley mood. And Sex & The City is on tonight!

All in all, life is good.

Miss anything?

Sluttery [August 16, 2003]
Apologies... [July 30, 2003]
Up and down [July 27, 2003]
Poly/bi meet thingy [July 26, 2003]
Office scandal [July 23, 2003]

Design by my own fair hand. Bettie Page picture � Olivia.