Current | Archive and Rings | Guestbook | Email | Notes | Diaryland | My Wishlist | DiaryReview(s)

[January 17, 2003 - 10:55 a.m.]
Disjointed III

Once more...

- My sweetie is the greatest. He tracked down a CD with the acoustic version of Mad World from Donnie Darko for me. I loved that track when I saw the film!! What a babe!

- I seem to be constantly tired at the moment. Going to bed at 11pm and waking up at 7am, and I'm still feeling knackered (and unable to get out of bed until 7.45am, making me constantly late). I'm thinking/hoping it's stress... I'm taking my vitamins and my iron and eating OK, so I hope nothing's awry.

- I'm getting worried about my weight again, especially as I'll have to give up my gym membership when I start my new job (won't be able to afford it any more). It took me a loooong time to lose those 16lbs last year, and I felt much better for exercising. I'm thinking of taking up running, since it's free exercise, but I'm not sure how to start or how it will affect my dodgy knees (dodgy as in, they hurt when I run - I'm not sure if they're actually damaged, it may just be that they don't appreciate carrying around so much weight). C has suggested we start running together, but I don't think he's very enthusiastic ;-) I'd probably be more likely to keep it up if I have a running partner, though.

- More tales of my mother. She's not happy about my career change. Not the work itself - she's not happy about the pay cut and the fact that I'll have to take a break from paying into my pension fund for a year or two (or three). She sent me one of her usual guilt-tripping emails saying "how worried" she is, and "did they [my current company] offer you more money to stay? Would you take it if they did?". UGH! UGH! UGH! It's my life!! And while I am slightly worried about the pension break, it's 39 years until I'm due to retire so I have plenty of time to get back on track!

Dammit, I wish she wouldn't constantly make me feel like I'm disappointing her - it's not as if I've spent my youth thus far snorting my salary up my nose or getting pregnant. I've got the good A-levels, the degree, the mortgage; I've worked the dull-but-stable, well-paid job I'm not really interested in, I've founded the pension schemes and savings accounts... I feel like I owe myself a little risk and adventure for a change.

But she'll never understand that. Because to her, happiness stems from a big house, a new car, a well-funded pension scheme, and a man to pay for it all (because women don't really want to work, do they?). I don't think we'll ever see eye-to-eye on this issue.

And I'm not being funny, but... Mum, you're not going to be around when I retire, so quit worrying!!!

- Talking of pensions: as part of my new, frugal, self, I transferred one of my pension funds into a Stakeholder Pension last week. Apparently they're better if you're on a low income. [Eep, I hate thinking of myself as being on a low income :-O ] But anyway. I feel very switched-on and financially organised at the moment :-)

- I've also opened a saving account with �1000 from my bonus. I'm going to try and not touch that money unless I really have to. Or maybe if I decide I can't go another year without a holiday! :-)

- Damn I'm boring.

- I don't feel anything like as worried about my future as I did when I decided to take my new job. Fears fade with time and planning, I guess.

Miss anything?

Sluttery [August 16, 2003]
Apologies... [July 30, 2003]
Up and down [July 27, 2003]
Poly/bi meet thingy [July 26, 2003]
Office scandal [July 23, 2003]

Design by my own fair hand. Bettie Page picture � Olivia.