Current | Archive and Rings | Guestbook | Email | Notes | Diaryland | My Wishlist | DiaryReview(s)

[February 03, 2003 - 11:05 a.m.]
Weekend

So what the hell does a girl wear to take her boy to a strip club for his 30th birthday?

On Saturday C and I went shopping in High Street Kensington, trying to find something for me to wear. I went to H & M - the saviour of less-moneyed girls everywhere. I bought two dresses, for only �19.99 each (bargainous!). Now I have to decide which to wear to Secrets.

Dress #1 is black, long (to my ankles), with a halterneck and a flamenco-style hem with ruffles. Because of the halterneck I won't be able to wear a bra with it, but C assures me that my boobs are still perky enough to get away with it. And it's not as if I'll be doing a lot of jumping around.

Dress #2 is black, shorter (to my knees), with thin straps and a v-shaped neckline. It's got a cute black lace trim that makes it look quite 'Madonna-in-1984'. I'll be able to wear my wonderbra with this one, for plenty of va-va-voom.

So which one? Long, classy and elegant; or shorter, cute and funky? I'm inclined to wear #2, because I'd feel less "dressed up" in that one, but then #1 makes me look like a lady, and goes perfectly with my kitten-heeled strappy shoes.

Decisions decisions! Maybe I'll post pictures of me in both and let you guys advise me :-) I really have no idea what the dress code would be for a lady punter in a strip club.

After H & M, C and I went to Urban Outfitters, where I got a really funky ribbon door screen for my kitchen doorway. Well, not "ribbon" exactly, they're strips of brightly-coloured plastic netting, but it looks great in my flat.

And then we went to see C's piercer, and C got his nipple pierced. He's a braver man than I (and I'm not even a man). It looks very cool, and apparently didn't hurt as much as either of us were expecting. C had his chest waxed last week, so the overall effect of a smooth chest and a pierced nipple is woohoo!.

I'm not sure if I want any more piercings. I'd love to get my traguses re-pierced, but I remember how much they hurt the first time, and how long they took to heal (about a year for each before they'd completely settled down). I think I might just stick with getting a tattoo sometime this year.

On Sunday we had a DIY frenzy. I have had loads of pictures just sitting around in my flat for nearly two years, but on Sunday C and I went to the DIY store, picked up some picture hooks and put them up. We also put up the door screen. I now have two of my very own nudes on the wall above my bed; and prints of Bettie Page and a pin-up cowgirl on another wall. I want to get more clip frames so I can put more of my artwork up. It's very cool to have my own pictures up on the wall, if maybe a little narcissistic ;-)

C and I also looked at storage units on Sunday, because we're now seriously looking into sharing a (my) flat. If we do it, C will have to put a lot of his stuff in storage, as will I, but it will make good financial sense. I will struggle to pay my bills on my new salary, and C has debts that he'll be able to pay off more quickly if he doesn't have �800/month rent to contend with. I'm still slightly apprehensive about the idea, but it makes sense - I'll be able to carry on paying something into a pension, and he'll be able to sort out his finances in the long-term. Space is the main issue I'm worried about, but people have survived worse - I could be moving back in with my parents or something. Dog forbid!

It's kind of weird, to be moving in with someone out of convenience for a second time. I have no idea if other people do it - I kind of picture that when other people move in together, they're "setting up home". But the idea of "setting up home" with anyone gives me the heebies! I don't mind sharing my living space with someone, and I definitely don't mind sharing the bills and having someone 'there' with me, I think I just mind the whole "owning a property and/or stuff with someone else" thing. Maybe I've been spoiled by having my own flat, maybe I'm just too pig-headedly independent, maybe I just have the right idea. Who knows?

Oh, and for tree's reassurance: I will be getting myself one of these and high-tailing it to a solicitor at some point - I need to sort out my will anyway, since I don't really want all my stuff going to my 'rents in the event of my demise (for as long as she's still around, it's all going towards Jerry's upkeep). Bah, all this grown-up stuff to do! ;-)

Miss anything?

Sluttery [August 16, 2003]
Apologies... [July 30, 2003]
Up and down [July 27, 2003]
Poly/bi meet thingy [July 26, 2003]
Office scandal [July 23, 2003]

Design by my own fair hand. Bettie Page picture � Olivia.