Current | Archive and Rings | Guestbook | Email | Notes | Diaryland | My Wishlist | DiaryReview(s)

[February 06, 2003 - 4:38 p.m.]
Genderfuck continued

So, I'm thinking about the genderfuck thing. I have been sending a few emails back and forth to one of the guys who answered my personal ad; a guy who sounds quite promising (the bi guy looking for a girlfriend, who prompted me to ask C - jokingly! - if he minded me having two boyfriends).

We were talking about the gay clubbing scene. C and I have been looking into gay clubs in London, hoping to find a nice, laid-back mixed club we can go to (so far Popstarz at the Scala looks like the best bet). Guy I have been emailing - let's call him K - has been there, and to some of the "more gay" clubs like Crash. He described Crash as being a place where you can go and ogle lots of cute topless guys.

So I ask you: why aren't straight clubs like that? I mean, I really can't be the only straight woman on the planet who likes to ogle men - and I mean 'ogle' in an objective way. I've been to straight clubs, and I've been on the pull in straight clubs, and it always seems that the unwritten rule there is that girls are pretty and boys come and pull them. Heaven forfend the boys stand around looking coquettish, and the girls come over and whisk them off their feet!

OK, maybe less "genderfuck" and more "gender-role-fuck".

It hasn't really surprised me that the ad in which I declare my preference for boys who exfoliate and wear eyeliner has not been so 'successful' (that is, 'successful' in terms of volume of replies - it certainly has engendered a better quality response). I even had one guy respond and ask me what the eyeliner thing was about... I didn't think it was that obscure a reference. After explanation, his meathead response was along the lines of "Blokes don't wear make-up - they only wear it when their girl's been crying on them at some girlie movie". Mm-hmm.

Well, anyway... I'm hoping that K will turn out to be an interesting and useful friend. Useful as in someone I could conceivably go clubbing with and spend the evening leching pretty boys, and who might introduce C & I to a wider circle of less-straight-laced friends. We'll see.

On that note, my sweetie is becoming more successful in his quest to drop the -curious off his orientation. He hasn't had much luck finding a girl to play with (which seems to be the way of the world, with straight men dominating all personals sites), but he has been in contact with a promising-sounding guy. It's all quite exciting, really :-)

Miss anything?

Sluttery [August 16, 2003]
Apologies... [July 30, 2003]
Up and down [July 27, 2003]
Poly/bi meet thingy [July 26, 2003]
Office scandal [July 23, 2003]

Design by my own fair hand. Bettie Page picture � Olivia.