Current | Archive and Rings | Guestbook | Email | Notes | Diaryland | My Wishlist | DiaryReview(s)

[March 21, 2003 - 11:37 a.m.]
Turin Brakes...

After a stonking 9 years at the top, Radiohead have been ousted from the position of My Favourite Band. Turin Brakes fucking ROCK!!!. And last night has confirmed that I do indeed fancy Olly more than Gale.

I hadn't been to the Brixton Academy before - what a weird venue. My guess is that it was an Opera house, or something similar, before, what with the strange castle frontage and balconies inside. Anyway, the gig was spectacular. When I saw them before, it was a sit-down acoustic affair, and I wasn't sure how they'd pull a big gig in a place the size of the Academy off, but it went swimmingly. There were a few problems with the sound, but nothing major.

When I saw them before, I thought they were cool, but now I'm convinced that they're amazing. The crowd were practically worshipping them (C and I were standing quite close to the front and everyone down there was ecstatic). The band themselves looked overawed and once or twice Olly looked like he was going to choke up - I guess playing in Brixton is like a 'homecoming' gig for them.

Anyway, I love them now. And Olly, despite that he's a bit on the lardy side (I'm such a hypocrite!!), and had quite shockingly bad hair last night (he looked like he'd stuck his finger in a light socket), is verrry sexy and I think I have a mad crush on him. Ah, what being the singer in a band will do for you, eh? ;-)

Sorry, obligatory picture:

C was speculating this morning that since they've been best friends since they were 10, that there might be more than a little sexual tension between them. I mean, there's no way a girlfriend is going to get a look-in with those two, is there? Best mates for 16 years and now in a band together? Aaah, I can dream, can't I? ;-)

OK, I'm going to stop boring you with talk and pictures of a band you've probably never heard of... (but you should have ;-)

Miss anything?

Sluttery [August 16, 2003]
Apologies... [July 30, 2003]
Up and down [July 27, 2003]
Poly/bi meet thingy [July 26, 2003]
Office scandal [July 23, 2003]

Design by my own fair hand. Bettie Page picture � Olivia.