Current | Archive and Rings | Guestbook | Email | Notes | Diaryland | My Wishlist | DiaryReview(s)

[March 21, 2003 - 12:32 p.m.]
Teenage romance

You know how, when you're a little girl, you're 'supposed' to dream about the day a handsome prince sweeps you off your feet and marries you and you live happily ever after?

I was thinking the other day, that when I was in my early teens, and I still daydreamed (before the Eugynon 50 contraceptive pill removed all thoughts of sex from my brain at 15) I used to have a slightly different fantasy. I'd forgotten all about it until now. In my teenage romantic fantasies, I was single, but had an ex-boyfriend who I would sleep with now and again. And this ex-boyfriend was gay, and he'd come out while we were together, and we'd split up amicably, and still fooled around together now and again and were best mates.

Yeah, I went into a lot of detail with this fantasy. But teenage girls do, don't they? They often have this big idealised romantic vision. Mine was just a little bit different.

My fantasy man was very tall, with dark shaggy hair. And he was French-Canadian, so we used to whisper together in Quebecois about his cute, sexy boyfriends . Meanwhile, I was living a fantastic, fun, single life. And when we felt like it, we'd fool around.

OK, so I was a strange kid.

So I was thinking the other day of how like my teenage fantasies my current life is. OK, so C's Scottish, not French-Canadian, but he does have groovy dark purple hair. And I'm not funkily single, but I'm coming to terms with that. And since we've been together, C has had the cojones to come out as bi. And if he ever does get round to sleeping with boys, we get to whisper about them ;-)

Anyway, I just thought it was funny how my unconventional teenage romantic fantasies have almost turned into my off-kilter real life. I'm just hoping that he doesn't decide he's gay (or that if he does, we still get to fool around now and again ;-) )

If you haven't, go back and read my homage to Turin Brakes. Two more things to add to that: 1) evil teasing of boyfriend to public hardness in between the support band and Turin Brakes; 2) fantastic shag when we got home (yay!!).

Miss anything?

Sluttery [August 16, 2003]
Apologies... [July 30, 2003]
Up and down [July 27, 2003]
Poly/bi meet thingy [July 26, 2003]
Office scandal [July 23, 2003]

Design by my own fair hand. Bettie Page picture � Olivia.